Musical Ornaments

As you may (or may not) know, all of my formal education is as a musician. As a result, I have a special place in my heart for Christmas carols and for music-related Christmas ornaments. Last year, another Etsy seller (Papuan Lass) had beautiful Christmas-carol inspired ornaments available in her shop. (They’re still available here.) I absolutely fell in love with them at the time and made a mental note that I wanted to incorporate Christmas carols into my ornament line for 2011.

My Musical Christmas Trees and Musical Angels are the result of that “mental note.” The Christmas trees are covered in the music for the carol “O Tannenbaum,” or “O Christmas Tree.” The text of the music on the trees is in German, like the original carol.

The Musical Angels bear the music for “Angels From the Realms of Glory.” It’s one of my favorite Christmas carols, even if it’s not as popular as some other “angel” hymns.

Angels from the realms of glory,
Wing your flight o’er all the earth;
Ye who sang creation’s story,
Now proclaim Messiah’s birth:
Come and worship,
Come and worship,
Worship Christ, the newborn King!

Click any of the photos below to zoom in.

What are your favorite Christmas carols?

Update: All of my Musical Ornaments are now available in my Etsy shop. Here are the links:

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musical Ornaments

  1. Phyllis Brown says:

    As I commented earlier, I love the musical ornaments, and knowing your thoughts and carols used in making them makes them even better.
    Love, Mom

  2. rowanmdm says:

    Very cute. I especially love that you used the German words for the trees. My favorite carol is We Three Kings. I love the chorus and it’s just not sung enough.

Leave a comment