Efficiency

As I’ve mentioned before in my blog posts (such as here and here), the sheer number of tasks required of me as a small business owner can get overwhelming. The designing and the crafting are the easy and fun parts. Left to my own devices, those are probably all I would do. But alas, I am also bookkeeper, marketing director, copy writer and editor, and photographer for my fledgling business. Much as I’d like to stick to crafting all the time, I can’t.

I recently found this quote by Arnold Bennett (an English novelist from the turn of the 20th century) that has helped me understand what is required of me to make this business a success:

“A sense of the value of time – that is, of the best way to divide one’s time into one’s various activities – is an essential preliminary to efficient work; it is the only method of avoiding hurry.”
 
– Arnold Bennett

If I allow myself to become overwhelmed by all that must be done and the short time in which I have to do it, I’ll always be hurrying from one task to the next, never giving any chore or responsibility the focus it deserves. I’ve pledged this week to value my time more and to divide it as best as possible between all that must be done. Hopefully this will help me get the most out of the time I do have and to get more done in the process.

What are your strategies for managing your “to-do list?

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Efficiency

  1. That is the $64,000 question. If you read my previous post (http://wp.me/pmLUF-kr), you’ll find that my plate is getting fuller and fuller the closer I get to that RED LETTER DAY (10/31), and the same question of time management looms in the distance. I’m debating between sectioning up my days into chunks of time and scheduling the different tasks each day, or leaving entire days dedicated to one task, then another day for another. I guess I’ll just have to try it and see which method works best; I’m thinking that cutting up each day into different smaller sections may become too cumbersome and less productive tho, because once I get started on something I find it hard to stop in the middle. We’ll see… Suggestions welcome!

    • Monica, good luck figuring out how to manage your retirement time — it’s a problem many of us wish we had. 😉 But in all seriousness, I know exactly what you mean in terms of having so many projects just crying for attention. I’ve found that my life works best when I allot large blocks of time for each project but also don’t spend an entire day on one thing. So, for example, 2 hours for sketching and prototyping, 3 hours for photography and photo editing, 3 hours for filling orders, etc. That way, I have enough time to make significant headway on each task but also don’t get burnt out on any one item.

      Good luck, and let me know how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

