His Eye is On the Sparrow

One of my grandfather’s favorite hymns was His Eye is On the Sparrow. As a result, it’s become one of my favorite hymns as well. The sentiment of the hymn – that the Lord cares about each of his creations individually, even the tiny sparrows – is one in which I find much comfort.

I knew I wanted to incorporate the hymn into a Christmas ornament somehow, but I wasn’t quite sure what form the design would take. At first, I had trouble settling on a text for the ornament. My instinct was to use scripture, but the scripture passages on which the hymn is based don’t “quote” very well for something as small as an ornament. I couldn’t find a short but meaningful excerpt from the scripture passages that would really suit my needs.

I happened to mention my dilemma to Arturo, and he immediately responded, “Why not just use the title of the hymn? It says everything you need, doesn’t it?” And indeed, the title of the hymn does say everything I need. Sometimes it takes a fresh perspective to see what was right in front of you all along.

My goal for this week is to photograph all my new items and new Christmas ornaments and make them available in my shop. I’ll let you know when my “Etsy shop makeover” is complete – can’t wait! 🙂

Update: The “His Eye is On the Sparrow” Ornament is now available in my Etsy shop, here.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Eye is On the Sparrow

  1. Phyllis Brown says:

    Thank you, Jenn!! Your grandfather would have been so proud of your craft accomplishments, as he was of your music success. He would have loved this ornament. Love you, Mom

    • Thanks, Mom! I never listen to that hymn without thinking of Granddaddy. It was one of the special music selections at Bethlehem UMC when we were there over Labor Day, which is what gave me the idea of using that hymn or the related scripture for an ornament.

Leave a Reply

