Stronger

I had today’s post already written and ready to go – I often write my blog posts a few days ahead. But then I read Friday’s post from This Crazy Blessed Life, and I knew my prewritten post introducing a few of my new Christmas ornaments would need to wait for another day.

For the month of September, I’ve been playing in the pit orchestra for a run of the musical The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. I enjoy playing for musicals, and this show in particular has some really fun music. Plus, the other musicians I’m working with are friendly and good at what they do. However, the schedule of the musical, combined with my other work obligations, turned the month of September into insanity, during which I have only 2 free evenings for the entire month. My days have been spent frantically working on my ever-growing JennJill to-do list, and my evenings are consumed by practicing for upcoming auditions and by performances of the musical. To say I’ve been overwhelmed would be putting it lightly.

Last night, my emotions reached a climax, and I wasn’t quite sure how I’d make it through another few weeks of this insane schedule. And then, over breakfast this morning, I read Sarah’s brutally honest post about how overwhelmed she has felt. Through her words, I was gently reminded that, while I might feel alone in the whirlwind that has been my life since Labor Day, I’m not actually alone. The Lord is right here beside me, helping me through and giving me the strength I need to make it, even when I don’t think I can. The song Stronger by Mandisa captures it perfectly:

Hey, heard you were up all night
Thinking about how your world ain’t right
And you wonder if things will ever get better
And you’re asking why is it always raining on you
When all you want is just a little good news
Instead of standing there stuck out in the weather

Oh, don’t hang your head
It’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even if it’s hard to see Him
I promise you that He still cares

Try and do the best you can
Hold on and let Him hold your hand
And go on and fall into the arms of Jesus
Oh, lift your head it’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even when you just can’t feel Him
I promise you that He still cares

‘Cause if He started this work in your life
He will be faithful to complete it
If only you believe it
He knows how much it hurts
And I’m sure that He’s gonna help you get through this

When the waves are taking you under
Hold on just a little bit longer
He knows that this is gonna make you stronger, stronger
The pain ain’t gonna last forever
In time it’s gonna get better
Believe me, this is gonna make you …

Stronger

 
Have you been overwhelmed or anxious recently? If so, don’t forget that you don’t have to go it alone. As the apostle Paul wrote, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13, NKJV). I’ll admit I haven’t been very good at remembering this recently, but with God’s help, I know I can do better.

JennJill Designs Purple Scripture Jewelry Box

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stronger

  1. Phyllis Brown says:

    I’m sorry that you have felt overwhelmed. You’re right, God will always help you, and so will your dad and I. Talking to us sometimes might also help when you’re feeling down. Try to look at your upcoming schedules and see if you can simplify some things, especially with the busy Christmas schedule. Remember last Christmas, and try to carve out some time to really enjoy the holidays this year.
    Love, Mom

    • Thanks, Mom. That was actually part of the reason I called you and Dad yesterday — it always helps to talk to you two. 🙂 And I’ve already made plans and so forth to make sure that our Christmas this year is much more relaxed than last.

  2. Sarah @ This Crazy Blessed Life says:

    That was beautiful Jennifer! Isn’t it amazing the work that God does in us and through us? And that He put the exact same message on both of our hearts? Even when we feel alone and overwhelmed, He is with us and is making us stronger through our trials!

    • Sarah, thank you so much for your comment! Yes, it is amazing how God works through us. I read your post exactly when I needed it most, and I’m so thankful for His perfect timing.

      (I’m also thankful for your blog — I love reading it!)

Leave a Reply

