Thankful Thursday

It’s that time of the week again – time for Thankful Thursday. Here’s this week’s by-no-means complete list of things for which I am thankful. Enjoy!

  • My crockpot – Every Tuesday evening, I teach beading classes at Michaels, which means I have to leave home before Arturo gets home from work and don’t return until it’s almost time for us to go to bed. Every other night of the week, Arturo comes home to a nice, hot meal, already prepared and on the table for him, but that’s a bit difficult for me to manage on Tuesdays … until I started making crockpot dinners for Tuesday nights. It’s been great! Not only do we both get a hot, nutritional meal – me before I head off to teach and Arturo when he gets home from work – but we also get to eat the leftovers for lunches the rest of the week. As I write this post, I’m enjoying a bit of this week’s crockpot meal: veggie stew.
     
  • Fall-like weather – Fall is definitely my favorite season. The turning leaves and cooling weather are both to my liking. I love the feeling of leaves crunching underfoot, and our daily walks, runs, and bike rides are much nicer in fall than at any other time of year. While it’s still early for true fall weather, we’ve had several fall-like days recently that have whetted my appetite for the coming season. I’m so thankful for a break from the summer heat!
     
  • Good friends – I know my friends are on just about every “thankful” list I make, but what can I say, I know a blessing when I see one! Over Labor Day weekend, Arturo and I went to Smith Mountain Lake, VA with some good friends, and it was a wonderful vacation. Even now, almost 2 weeks later, I’m still receiving the benefits of our relaxing time in the sun.
     
  • My family’s health and safety – The commemorations last weekend for the 10th anniversary of 9-11 caused me to reflect on how lucky and blessed I and my family are. Our lives have been remarkably free from pain and heartache these past 10 years. Even the terrible experiences we’ve gone through, such as a bad fall a few years ago in which my mom broke her neck, have been used by the Lord for good. I am so thankful for our blessings and am daily amazed at the goodness of God.
     
    Sidenote: Hannah of Hannahviolin (one of the many blogs I follow) wrote a thought-provoking article about 9/11 and what the 10th anniversary means to those Americans who were forever changed by that day but who didn’t actually know anyone killed in the attacks. I fall into that category. Her post seemed to describe my feelings as well, perhaps all the more so because, like Hannah, I’m a music major who doesn’t (yet) have her dream symphony job. Part of what I found so unbelievable about the 10th anniversary of 9/11 this weekend is that it’s already been 10 years.
     
    If you take the time to read Hannah’s post (which I sincerely hope you do), please also take time to share with me what you thought about it.

What are you thankful for today?

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

