Single-fabric Tablet Cover & Stand

A customer recently ordered a tablet cover & stand for her brand new HP Touchpad and requested that I use her fabric for the cover. This isn’t at all unusual – I often make covers and stands from fabric supplied by customers, particularly if the customer in question wants a particular pattern or color combination that I can’t easily match. However, this order was a bit unusual in that the customer wanted me to use only one fabric for her cover, instead of two.

Here is the finished product:

This was my first cover made from a single fabric, and while I certainly prefer the two-fabric design, I think it works with the particular fabric my customer chose. Since the fabric itself has a stark color contrast – black vs. white – the finished cover doesn’t seem dull or boring. However, I do miss the “book binding” effect that the two-fabric covers have. The binding is perhaps my favorite element of my cover designs, so I certainly wouldn’t want a single-fabric cover for myself.

What do you think? Do you prefer the single-fabric design, and if so, why? I’d love to know what you think.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Single-fabric Tablet Cover & Stand

  1. Phyllis Brown says:

    I much prefer the two fabric design, and I don’t especially like black and white bold patterns, but that is why we can each chose our own. Not everyone likes what others choose. I think your design is the unique thing about each of the pad designs. I certainly love my Kindle cover and have lots of compliments on it. At Bible study, one other lady uses a Kindle and has a boring brown leather-look cover. It doesn’t appeal to me nearly as much as the one you gave me.

    Love you, Mom

  2. Suze says:

    Ooh, I love the look of the single fabric — it’s so sleek! Of course, I like the “binding” when you use the two colors, but it looks great with just one fabric! Was it any easier to make?

    • Thanks, Suze! It was a bit easier to make, but only because cutting the fabric took less time since I didn’t have to worry about which pieces needed to be cut from which fabric. But overall, about the same as a two-fabric cover.

Leave a Reply

