Psalm 121

When working on new products, I will often spend several weeks considering and then discarding various design ideas in my mind before I ever make a test sketch or attempt to work out the design in fabric or clay. Psalm 121 is my favorite psalm, so I’ve known for months that I wanted to use part of it in a wall plaque design. However, because I love the passage so much, it was a particularly troublesome design to nail down. The design needed to be just perfect in order to fit these words that have brought me immeasurable comfort over the years. Last Friday afternoon, I decided I’d had enough indecision: it was time to make an attempt and see what happened.

Before sitting down at my work table, I turned on the radio, as I often do. As luck (or God) would have it, the story playing was one of the most moving I’ve ever heard, and I was brought to tears while my fingers worked and manipulated the clay. The story, titled “The Day Before America Was Interrupted: Nine People Recall Sept. 10, 2001,” related the incredible experiences nine people had on September 10, experiences that will forever change the way they view the events of 9-11. As a result of the radio story, my plaque turned out not at all how I had expected, but I have a feeling it’s exactly what God intended.

Like every American who was alive on 9-11-01, I can tell you exactly what I was doing that Tuesday morning, and the ramifications of that day have left their unmistakeable impressions upon my life. That day forever changed every person who watched with horror as the 2nd plane flew into the tower and who cried with pain and disbelief as the towers collapsed. It’s hard to believe that 10 years have passed.

This world can be a very ugly, unfriendly place. Yet the words of the psalmist remind us that, through it all, we have the assurance that our help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth, and that He is ultimately in control.

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.
My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.
He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.
Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.
The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.
The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.
The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

Psalm 121 (KJV)

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Psalm 121

  1. Phyllis Brown says:

    I didn’t know that Psalm 121 was your favorite. Maybe because you heard me talk about it so much. It’s not only my favorite Psalm but one of my favorite of all scripture. Countless times I’ve just said “I will lift up my eyes to the hills…” just to know that God is there, in the hills, the sky, the trees, everywhere, looking out for me. Beautiful plaque.

    Love you, Mom

    • Thanks for sharing, Mom. I did remember that Psalm 121 was your favorite, and you’re right — I have no doubt that your love for that psalm is part of the reason I consider it my favorite psalm as well.

Leave a Reply

