Thankful Thursday

As I’ve mentioned before (here and here), I like to make a list each day of 10 or so things for which I am thankful. Doing this helps me stay centered on what really matters in life, rather than getting distracted or sidetracked by all the bothersome but not really so important things, such as icky weather or bad traffic. Making this list reminds me that in the ways that matter – my family, my friends, the beauty of life – I am so blessed.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
 
1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Here is today’s by-no-means-complete list of a few things for which I’m thankful.

  • My parents – I have a wonderful, open, and caring relationship with both of my parents, and it’s amazing. I love that they are so supportive of me and are so supportive of Arturo. Their life experiences have given them much wisdom, and I’m blessed to have their guidance and encouragement.
  • My husband – Arturo is on just about every “thankful list” I make, but what can I say – I got myself a good one. 🙂 But in all seriousness, how many husbands do you know who would willingly get up on a Saturday morning to satisfy the wife’s urge to go yardsaling?
  • My friend Suzanne – Suzanne has been one of my closest friends for nearly 5 years, and while I am always thankful for her ready smile and supportive heart, today I am particularly thankful for her fashion prowess. When Suzanne goes through her closet to give away clothes she hasn’t worn in a while, she lets me go through her Goodwill bags before she actually donates them. Last week brought a fun time of “shopping” in Suzanne’s Goodwill bags, and as a result, I feel like I have a whole new wardrobe. 🙂 Even better, as we were going through the clothes, Suzanne gave me some great ideas for how to wear them and what items to pair together.
  • BibleGateway.com – Arturo and I lead a Bible study in our house each week, and while preparing this week’s lesson, we had a question about the meaning of a particular phrase. The wording in the translation we were reading (NIV) seemed a bit odd. Since neither of us read Hebrew or Greek, going back to the original text wasn’t an option, but with BibleGateway.com, we could view that same verse in 25 different English translations, which allowed us figure out what was going on in that particular passage. So helpful!
  • Cookbooks – On a much more lighthearted note, I’m also thankful for cookbooks. Eating is a necessary requirement of life as a human being, and our collection of cookbooks helps me give the job of eating a bit more variety than it might have otherwise.

What are you thankful for today?

Me being super thankful (not to mention silly) after a bike ride with Arturo. This picture was taken in Bellevue Park, very close to our house, and that's the city of Cincinnati stretched out behind me.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. jim says:

    You make me smile, such a young person with Great Wisdom. I am Thankful knowing both of You.

  2. OK. How was that picture taken??? Are you in the midst of a jump? Standing on the bike? Whichever way, it’s an awesome picture! Congratulations to the photographer!!!
    (And thank you for your post; I was feeling a bit deflated as a result of a nasty email. :P)

    • Monica, Arturo actually took that picture! 🙂 If it makes you feel any better, we took about 10 photos, and this was the best one (although it was also only the 2nd he took). I was jumping, but for whatever reason, Arturo didn’t seem to have any problem getting me mid-leap.

      I’m glad my thankful list could cheer you up a bit today. You should try making one of your own — it’s amazing how quickly it can turn a bad or not-great day into a wonderful one!

  3. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for the shout-out! I’m so glad my clothes are getting some love! 🙂 Ps — how cute are you in that picture??? I love it!

  4. Phyllis Brown says:

    Thanks for the comments. We treasure our relationship with you, also. You are everything a parent could want in a daughter. We love Arturo also. Great picture. I read the comment above about how you took it, and it looks as if you are standing on the bike. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

