From Fabric Scraps to Pillows

For several months now, I’ve been searching for the perfect pillows for our living room couch. Our living room is full of rich colors and deep shades of red, green, and blue, tempered with beige and tan. We’ve tried various pillows on the couch in the past but have never really found anything we liked. So, I decided I would design my own, and when I found a bolt of red upholstery fabric at one of this weekend’s yard sales, I knew I’d found the perfect fabric for our living room pillows.

Before:

After:

I used the raggedy reverse technique to reverse applique the squares and fleur de lis on the pillows. (See last week’s Project of the Week post for a much more light-hearted example of raggedy reverse.) Raggedy reverse has a wonderful, touchable texture that’s perfect for pillows.

I drew upon the concentric rectangles in the living room rug to design the “frame” around the fleur de lis, and I choose coordinating fabrics from my stockpile to compliment both the red background of the pillows and the blues and tans we already had in the room.

For me, home décor is always a work in progress. I’m constantly tweaking accessories and rearranging furniture to suit my current mood. However, I certainly think these pillows have the staying power to grace our couch for quite a while!

Within the next few weeks, these pillows will also be available for purchase in my Etsy shop. Please contact me know if you would like a set before they have been posted – I’d be happy to put together a rush order for you.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Fabric Scraps to Pillows

  1. Cute! I love the reverse applique technique, but I’ve yet to try it. (Nothing like showing up in one of your pictures too–see photo #4. :P)

    • I love the raggedy reverse technique, too! It’s so touchable and versatile. I was actually at a quilt shop with you when I bought Kim Deneault’s book “Raggedy Reverse,” which is what got me hooked on the process. So you’re in this project in more ways than one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

