Attack of the Summertime Cold

This morning, I woke to find myself beset by that most dreaded of diseases: the summertime cold. Summertime colds are just cruel. While everyone else is out romping and enjoying the energizing sunshine and warm air, the summertime cold keeps the unfortunate patient inside with a box of tissues and a container of hand sanitizer.

I knew it was coming – I’ve woken up with a scratchy throat and stuffed nose each morning this week, and I’ve been downing hot tea and Zicam like they’re going out of style. But this morning it finally hit me full force. The few words I’ve attempted to utter so far today have sounded like a cross between a bullfrog and a sick donkey. Not fun.

In my current state, all I feel like doing is curling up on the couch with a cup of tea or broth, some soothing music playing in the background, and a bit of sewing or beading to occupy my hands. Luckily, that’s exactly what I get to do! This experience is reminding me once again how incredibly lucky I am to be doing what I love. My business is built around the activities that have been my lifelong hobbies, and so “working” for me feels much more like “playing.”

And so it is that my day will be spent with a cup of hot tea by my side, some jazz playing on Pandora, and a crafty project at my fingertips. Let’s see what fun creations I can come up with today. A tissue box cover, perhaps?

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attack of the Summertime Cold

  1. Poor thing! Isn’t it nice to be able to take a “sick” day without feeling guilty tho? Take care!

Leave a Reply

