Custom Order Experimentation

As I’ve mentioned before, one of my favorite parts of my job is creating with custom orders. I love working with customers to develop personal accessories and home décor products that exactly meet their needs and perfectly suit their individual styles. Over the last few months, some of my best new product ideas, including my Tablet Cover/Stand, have come as a result of custom order requests from my clients.

My work yesterday was spent filling just one such custom order. A client found and loved my Roots and Wings Wall Plaque, but she wanted something a bit more gender-neutral than the bold blue background of the original.

Here’s what it usually looks like:

And here’s the custom version:

I had a great time working with the new color palette. The yellow background gives the plaque such a sunny, cheery feel. While I still love the original blue, my client’s custom request breathed a very different life into the same basic design. It’s amazing what a difference a small change of color makes!

What’s better is that this particular customer wanted two of my plaques, not just one, so as they say, I had “double the trouble and double the fun.”

Have a great Wednesday, all!

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Custom Order Experimentation

  1. ccellist says:

    It’s amazing to see how much your craft has improved over the months you’ve been working. Nowhere is this more apparent that in this specific example. Your original design is beautiful, but this most recent incarnation is so masterfully created! The text is so much clearer on this one, and the butterfly so eye-catching. You’re absolutely right about the yellow background. It makes me think of a beautifully sunlit day. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

