A Day for Cleaning

Arturo and I realized this weekend that, in the midst of life’s craziness (my new business, Arturo’s job hunt, etc.), we’ve let our house turn into quite the mess. We live in a beautiful, big, old house, with solid German architecture, high ceilings, and amazing closet space. But having a big old house with amazing closet space means 1) more rooms to clean and 2) lots of closets in which to hide the clutter.

Sunday afternoon, the closet clutter finally reached an un-ignorable stage, and we determined to do something about it. Thus followed an afternoon of sorting, organizing, scrubbing, and rearranging. We had a great time working together, but unfortunately, we barely finished a single room! So, my task today is to do a bit more summer cleaning. With that in mind, I thought I’d share with you a wonderful quote I came across this morning:

I am thankful for a lawn that needs mowing, windows that need cleaning and gutters that need fixing because it means I have a home. I am thankful for the piles of laundry and ironing because it means my loved ones are nearby. -Nancy J. Carmody

While cleaning and organizing might not fit my idea of an exciting or fun day, it does mean I have a place to call home and a wonderful husband which whom to share it.

Arturo & me in front of our house. This was taken over three years ago, the weekend before we got married and moved into our home.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day for Cleaning

  1. haydemon says:

    When one cleans one’s house, one cleanses one’s spirit (my quote). Congratulations!

    • Beautiful quote, Monica. I completely agree. 🙂 My goal in all of this is that a less cluttered house and less cluttered workplace will lead to more productive work days and more relaxing down time.

Leave a Reply

