Sample Weekend

My time this past weekend was full of friends, good food, and crafting, which is exactly how I like it. We had a bunch of friends over for a game night on Friday to celebrate my new lack of a day job, and smiles and laughter filled our house. What a wonderful blessing friends are!

During my crafty moments this weekend, I was creating samples for my upcoming bead and jewelry classes at Michaels. The topic for this week’s class is “mixed media” – using beads and jewelry techniques in a non-jewelry project. The specific focus is a beautifully decoupaged journal that incorporates a beaded closure and a ribbon and beaded embellishment.

Click any of the photos to zoom in.

When I first started JennJill at the end of last year, I’d planned to develop a line of decorated journals right away, but life and craft fairs distracted me a bit from that early goal. Working on this journal has reminded me how much I enjoy working on mixed media and decoupaged projects, so I expect journals will start showing up in my Etsy store very soon.

Three beaded strands dangle from the ribbon bow.

The journal features a toggle closure.

Next were my first ever attempts at wire crochet, and what fun it is! I can certainly understand why it’s such a popular new technique. I’d been looking forward to working on this sample for a while but only recently got all the supplies. I had a blast playing with the design and experimenting with stitch size, and I’m sure my students will, too.

If you’re interested finding out more about my classes at Michaels, just let me know. I’ll be happy to get you all of the information.

What were the highlights of your weekend? Did you find ways to be creative while celebrating the last few days of July?

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Crafting How-To, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

