Sneak Preview: Sculpture in the Vineyard

Tonight is the opening reception for the Augusta Art Guild’s Sculpture in the Vineyard at Kentucky’s Baker-Bird Winery (directions here). Yesterday, while I was setting up my items, I snapped a few photos of some of the other artists’ displays. Here’s a small taste of the wonderful creations in store for tonight’s visitors. Enjoy!

My display for the exhibit


A view of the main winery building, taken while looking down one row of grape vines. I just love the old stone architecture!


Del Tongret Bloom: “Jazzman”

I’ve known Del for nearly 2 years, and she is one of the main reasons I decided to join the Augusta Art Guild. However, despite knowing Del for so long, I’d never actually seen any of her work before. It was great to finally see some of her pieces, which are full of fun and lightheartedness.


Del Bloom, “Pegasus”

Del explained that when the wind is blowing, Pegasus’s wings flap up and down, as if he really is flying.


Del Tongret Bloom: “Egor”

Del’s comment about Egor: “Don’t get too close. He bites.”


Marcia Alscher: “A Little Light Music”

Marcia Alscher has several of her “A Little Light Music” sculptures in the Guild’s exhibit. A play on Mozart’s “A Little Night Music,” each piece is created from a candelabra of some sort and old instrument parts. Being a musician, I just fell in love with the sculptures, but my favorite part was this sign she put up:

As they say, no instruments were harmed in the making of this art. šŸ™‚


A selection of sculpture by Toby Fried


I’m not sure who the artist is for these few items, but I just love the horse sculpture, which is jointed so that each part of the horse moves.


Again, I’m not sure who the artist is, but I love door paintings. So fun.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

