Craft Fair Postmortem: Dublin Art Fair

Thanks so much to everyone who came out this past weekend to the Dublin Art Fair. It was great to meet you and share my art and craft with you. I hope you liked what you saw, and I hope you’ll take a moment to visit me on Etsy.

This past weekend’s Dublin Art Fair was set in the wonderfully charming town of Dublin, OH (within the Columbus, OH metropolitan area). The fair site, on the lawn of one of the local middle schools, was simply perfect. Because the fair was located on school grounds, there was plenty of parking, and since the lawn bordered a busy street, the fair benefited from high visibility. My booth was near one of the main fair entrances, so the traffic was great. All in all, the Dublin Art Fair was one of the better organized and better attended fairs in which I’ve participated this summer.

The fair started on a Friday evening, meaning I had to work the first day of the fair by myself. I was a bit worried – I’d never worked an event without a partner before – but I shouldn’t have stressed. Two other vendors helped me pop up my tent (the only step in the setup process that requires more than one person), and one of my neighbors, Pam from Mostly Maille, kept an eye on my booth when I needed a quick bathroom break. As always, I was grateful for and blessed by the generosity of my fellow vendors.

(Quick sidenote: Be sure to take a look at the Viking knit items in Pam’s Mostly Maille shop. She had some samples of in-process Viking knit in her booth, and it’s pretty amazing stuff. When I commented that I would never have enough patience to work on a craft as tedious as hers, Pam responded, โ€œEach of us have a talent, and mine is sitting in one position for hours twisting my wrists back and forth making chainmaille and Viking knit.โ€ Glad it’s her and not me, that’s all I can say! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

As you may remember, I was plagued by wind issues at my last fair, the Granville Art Affair. The wall plaques simply don’t want to stay in their display stands if the wind is blowing. During and after that event, Arturo and I did a bit of measuring and thinking, and we came up with this display idea for the wall plaques instead:

We couldn’t be happier with how the peg board display worked! While the wind wasn’t steady or strong at Dublin, we were able to enjoy the cooling effect provided by the few gusts of wind that did come through, rather than rushing around trying to right any plaques that had tipped.

I even managed to find a peg board that already had a glossy dark grey finish, which meant we didn’t have to paint the board before putting it into commission. The board allowed people to get up-close and personal with the plaques, and the plaques certainly generated more interest than they have at previous fairs, when they were spread all throughout my booth on display stands. I think that perhaps when they’re all viewed together they leave a more powerful impression. The peg board is definitely a โ€œkeeperโ€ in terms of display setups.

Every fair is a learning experience. As I do more of them, I’m gradually fine tuning the process. I’m sure I’ll become an โ€œold handโ€ before I know it, but until then, there’s definitely still a lot of learning to do. ๐Ÿ™‚

I set out a bowl of candy (non-chocolate, so melting wouldn't be an issue), and it definitely drew kids to my booth. Their parents then purchased items often enough to make the candy bowl a "keeper."

As always, my clay pens were my most popular item.

This was the first fair for which I'd included my e-reader covers in my booth, and they were a great hit.

It may be July, but people always like to buy ornaments!

Arturo enjoying a cup of complimentary Tim Horton's coffee, provided by the fair organizers for Saturday morning. (My cup of OJ is on the little table.)

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Craft Fairs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Craft Fair Postmortem: Dublin Art Fair

  1. haydemon says:

    I’m glad it went so well. Practice makes perfect, but you already knew that, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Monica. I did indeed already know that, but it’s something that continues to pop up in the most unexpected places. We’re never there, only working to get there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi, Jennifer!

    Thank you so much for the Shout Out! Ceci, Mom-in-Law, and I really enjoyed being your booth neighbors in Dublin and we just might see you again next year.

    Best of luck in your new full-time job as an artist…I’m sure you won’t regret it!

    Pam
    Mostly Maille
    http://www.Facebook.com/MostlyMaille
    http://www.MostlyMaille.ArtFire.com

Leave a Reply

