Project of the Week: Two New Votive Candleholders

Next month, I’m going to be a sponsor of the blog Today’s Letters, which means I get a banner ad spot in the blog’s sidebar and also will have a spot in the blog’s monthly sponsor post. To create the banner ad that I have in mind, I needed to design and make two new votive candleholders. Last night, after my last day of part-time work, I had time to get my creative juices flowing, and these two votives are the result.

When cleaning my storage closet last weekend, I stumbled across a package of rubber alphabet stamps I didn’t even remember I had. I knew I had to give them a try, and they worked wonderfully! I’m definitely going to use them more in the future.

I’ve done a fair amount of mokume gane work in the past (see here for examples), and my work with the rubber stamps for the “Smile, Laugh, Love, Play” votive gave me the idea of trying the letter stamps with the mokume gane techniques. I had no idea how it would turn out, but I couldn’t be happier. This is another technique that will most certainly be popping up again in my designs.

Have a wonderful Friday, and if you live anywhere near Columbus, hopefully I’ll see you tonight or tomorrow at the Dublin Art Fair. Can’t wait! 🙂

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Crafting How-To, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

