Project of the Week: Left-handed iPad Cover/Stand

As is fairly usual, my time this past week was mostly spent working on iPad covers and iPad cover/stands. I have a great time making them, so I certainly don’t mind that they’re my best-selling items. However, this week brought two new developments to my cover-making process: my first left-handed cover/stand and brand new fabric labels.

My older brother and one of my sisters-in-law are both left-handed, and from their experience, I know how difficult it can sometimes be to find accessories that work well for left-handed people. As a result, I do my best to accommodate the needs of “lefties” when developing my product designs.

My iPad Cover/Stand usually has a slot for a 5×7 notepad to the right of the iPad, where it’s perfectly positioned for note-taking by right-handed people but isn’t so convenient for anyone left-handed. The product description for the Cover/Stand mentions that I’m willing to flip the positioning for anyone left-handed, but until this week, no one had taken me up on the offer. When I received an order for a left-handed iPad Cover/Stand, I was excited to make my first one, and I think it turned out pretty well. Hopefully my customer thinks so, too.

This week, I also began including fabric “JennJill Designs” labels in my quilted items. I’d been meaning to purchase fabric labels for quite a while but only got around to it recently, and I couldn’t be happier with the labels I purchased from mommiemadeit, a fellow Etsy seller. On my covers, I position the label so that it’s hidden by the iPad or Kindle when the cover is actively being used, which prevents the finished product from feeling too commercial – it is a fully custom, handcrafted item, after all. However, simply including the label means that those who purchase my products will always know how to find me – definitely a good thing.

This fabric combination was chosen by one of my customers, and while I wouldn’t have picked it myself, I actually really like how it turned out. The solid red nicely highlights the small red flowers in the patterned fabric. My customers daily surprise me!

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project of the Week: Left-handed iPad Cover/Stand

  1. haydemon says:

    Ha! I see you made the covers. They look nice!

  2. Yup, these are the two completed covers for which you cut all the fabric. Thank you so much for your help, Monica! Couldn’t have done it without you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

