Preparation for Teaching

Recently, I was hired by one of the Michaels stores in Cincinnati to become their bead instructor. I’ve done some crafty teaching in the past and had a blast, so I’m really looking forward to working with my new students at Michaels.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve completed several hours of certification courses and tests, and I’m ready to get started. Tonight I will make my first official act as a Michaels bead instructor: I’m going to present a 2-hour demo at the store, letting customers know about the upcoming bead classes and encouraging them to sign up.

Some of the projects we’ll be working on during my upcoming classes are really exciting. Two classes will discuss various metal techniques for jewelry, including texturing, dapping, and stamping metal. These are techniques I’ve not used frequently in the past, so I’m really looking forward to expanding my knowledge as I prepare for the classes. Here are photos of the demo projects for these two classes:

Fundamentals of Dapping


Fundamentals of Stamping

The class I’m most excited about, though, is the “Fundamentals of Wire Crochet” class. I’ve never actually done wire crochet before, but I’ve always wanted to try it, and this is the perfect opportunity. I’m planning to allow lots of prep time for this class to make sure I really have the techniques under my belt before I have to teach them to others.

Fundamentals of Wire Crochet

Many of the other classes I’ll be presenting will use techniques that are comfortably in my repertoire: wire wrapping, bead stringing, crimping, and knotting, to name a few. I’m even going to teach a class discussing how to incorporate beads into mixed media projects, such as journal covers and collages.

Fundamentals of Mixed Media

I’ve always heard that “the best way to learn is to teach,” and I’m excited about the opportunity to expand my own creativity and improve my own designs while helping my students discover the many joys of beading.

I will be teaching jewelry and bead classes at the Colerain Michaels store (9490 Colerain Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45251) from 6:30-8:30 every Tuesday evening in July and August. If you’re interested in viewing a schedule of classes, signing up for a particular class, or simply finding out more information about the classes, you can either call the store at 513-741-4710 or leave me a message with this post. 🙂

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Crafting How-To, Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

