Project of the Week: Craft Fair Preparation

As I’ve mentioned before, this week has been busy with preparation for this weekend’s Granville Art Affair, so it’s been a particularly productive week. Here are a few photos of some of my new items. My first polymer clay pens turned out well, and I had a great time making a butterfly wing cane, which you’ll see in lots of the items below. Hopefully these new designs will be to the liking of my craft fair customers.

Let me know what you think ā€“ I love to hear feedback about new designs and new products!

Happy Friday, and hopefully I’ll see you tomorrow or Sunday at the Granville Art Affair.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Craft Fairs, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Project of the Week: Craft Fair Preparation

  1. haydemon says:

    Love the butterflies, particularly love the candle holders! Continuous improvement is the name of the game. šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks, Monica! The butterflies were lots of fun to make, and I’m looking forward to making more anatomically correct butterfly canes in the future. This first one was just a simple pattern that’s not actually the exact wing pattern of any species of butterfly, although it’s closest to the Monarch. Next week, I’m going to try to do an actual Monarch wing, with correct lines and shapes. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes. šŸ™‚

  3. rowanmdm says:

    That leaf bowl is amazing; I love it! The various butterfly items also turned out really nice.
    The pens turned out nicely too, though I prefer the non-click ones visually; they seem nicer and appear higher-quality than the others (even if they’re not).
    Is the vase with the coiling clay on top as well? That pattern is really cool, and I think it would have been more striking to have the whole vase be that pattern rather than adding the coiling at the bottom. The pattern and the texture fight each other a bit in my eyes. Since the pattern gives the appearance of texture you don’t really need to add texture. Good luck at the craft fair this weekend!

    • Thanks for the feedback, Rachel! I prefer retractable pens, so I focused on making those for the fair this past weekend and only had a couple regular pens in stock to sell. And ….. my regular, non-click pens flew off the shelves. I sold all the non-click pens I had, and while I sold some retractable ones as well, they certainly weren’t what caught people’s eyes. So, your advice was spot-on. šŸ™‚ As for the vase, the top is not actually textured — it’s perfectly smooth. But I will keep your texture vs. pattern comment in mind for the future. Thanks for your good-luck wishes!

Leave a Reply

