Smelling the Roses and Finding God

I looked at my schedule this morning and realized that the next few months will officially be known as “Craft Fair Craziness.” (Strange to think my first ever craft fair was only 7 months ago…) I have fairs the next two weekends, followed by two more fairs in July, and the same busy schedule continues through the end of September. With these fair dates looming, I’ve been doing some serious planning, carefully making to-do lists that will help me prepare enough inventory for selling at the upcoming art festivals while still getting my online orders mailed on time.

If there’s one thing being a small business owner has taught me, it’s that planning is not just important, it’s imperative. When the same person serves as customer service representative, creative designer, artisan, and bookkeeper, tasks will inevitably fall through the cracks if I forgo careful forethought and a strict attention to detail. I must say that it’s a lot of pressure for one person to handle.

In light of that, it’s incredibly comforting to know that the Lord has also carefully made plans that he promises to fulfill, plans for my good and plans that provide hope and strength. Jeremiah says it best:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:11-13

The first verse of this passage, in which the Lord promises a future of hope, is a widely quoted and oft recognized scripture verse. However, I love the following two verses just as much, for they show that the Lord isn’t interested in simply planning our lives for us: He desires to be found by us. When we take time out of our busy lives, stepping away from our to-do lists and focusing instead on spiritual matters, the Lord promises that we will find Him.

Stopping and smelling the roses in the middle of a busy week (or month or season) is about more than a beautiful fragrance: it’s about focusing back on what really matters and therein finding God.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Craft Fairs, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

