Home from vacation

Late yesterday afternoon, my husband and I returned from our amazing vacation in Miami, FL. We swam, we biked, we snorkeled, we read on the beach … it was wonderful. We came back refreshed, renewed, and relaxed, ready to take on a summer full of craft fairs to attend and orders to fill.

Prior to our trip, my husband and I meticulously planned each aspect of our trip: where to stay, what to do, where to eat, what to see. The care and purpose we devoted to our trip made the vacation seem effortless – no big decisions for a whole week! However, our extensive pre-vacation planning also made me think of a quote by Dorothy Canfield Fisher:

If we would only give, just once, the same amount of reflection to what we want to get out of life that we give to the question of what to do with a two weeks’ vacation, we would be startled at our false standards and the aimless procession of our busy days.
– Dorothy Canfield Fisher

Often life becomes so busy and overwhelming that we begin to react to our responsibilities, always lagging a step behind what needs to be done, rather than proactively making the choice to become a force of positive change in the lives of those around us.

When I made the (very difficult) decision last winter to quit my secure, comfortable, well-paid full-time office job in favor of pursuing my crafting dreams, I was attempting to, as Fisher puts it, reflect on what I want to get out of life and then pursue it wholeheartedly.

However, in the past few months, the busyness of running a new business has replaced the busyness of working full time. Yet again my best intentions were swallowed by life, sucking me into the trap of reactions rather than actions. This vacation was exactly what I needed to set me back on track, reminding me of why I’ve made the choices I have and renewing my commitment to make a living with my art.

If you were hoping to see lots of vacation photos today, I’m sorry to disappoint! But never fear: they will be coming over the new few weeks. I took a few rolls of film (gasp!) on the trip and want to have the rolls developed before I choose my best vacation photos for my blog. However, I know the photo of the dragonfly below will be among the best, so I decided to post it today anyway. This was taken in the Shark Valley portion of the Everglades National Park.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

