Beach Time!

Today, my husband and I are in Miami, celebrating our anniversary, so I’m going to take a brief blogging hiatus. I’ll be back next Tuesday, May 24, to share my favorite trip finds and to let you know what inspiration strikes while I’m on vacation. My sketchbook will be close at hand for the entire weekend, so I’m sure that, by the time we arrive back in Cincinnati, I’ll have pages of new designs and ideas just waiting to be brought to life in clay.

Meanwhile, here are a few beach-related quotes to ponder:

“One cannot collect all the beautiful shells on the beach; one can collect only a few, and they are more beautiful if they are few.”
– Anne Morrow Lindbergh

“The three great elemental sounds in nature are the sound of rain, the sound of wind in a primeval wood, and the sound of outer ocean on a beach.”
– Henry Beston

“Total physical and mental inertia are highly agreeable, much more so than we allow ourselves to imagine. A beach not only permits such inertia but enforces it, thus neatly eliminating all problems of guilt. It is now the only place in our overly active world that does.”
– John Kenneth Galbraith

An finally, a beach blessing. (This has been in my sketch book for months now, complete with a fully fleshed-out plaque design, and I haven’t had time to put it down in clay. Perhaps the inspiration of our beach vacation this weekend will be the final impetus I need.)

May your joys be as deep as the ocean,
Your sorrows as light as its foam

Have a great weekend, and I’ll be back next Tuesday.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

