Art & the Nature of the Artist

Today, I have two art-related quotes for your consideration:

Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures.
– Henry Ward Beecher

Painting is just another way of keeping a diary.
– Pablo Picasso

I find these statements to be true on a very deep and personal level. Even when I try to keep my emotions out of my art and away from my designs, I find they creep in anyway. My joy in a spring day or my disappointment after a failure inevitably occupy my subconscious until they come out in clay, as if with a mind of their own.

The act of creation is much too personal for it to be separated from the artist’s most dearly held beliefs and principals.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

