Project of the Week: Photo Triptych

I’ve been reading Donna Kato’s The Art of Polymer Clay: Creative Surface Effects, in which Kato discusses in great detail the process of transferring printed images onto clay. It seems there are as many ways to “print” on clay as there are artists working with clay! The method I use most often and that has been most successful for me, that of using acetone (in the form of nail polish remover) to dissolve toner onto a clay surface, isn’t even discussed in Kato’s book.

Reading about the many ways to work with printed images and clay inspired me to try something I hadn’t yet attempted: transferring a photo onto clay. Until this week, I’d only worked with printed text. While transferring an entire image uses the same process, it’s a much bigger and more exact undertaking.

As my inaugural “photo project,” I decided to create a photo triptych for my neice, Ava. Her 2nd birthday is coming up, so I thought a handcrafted gift would only be appropriate. (She’s also going to get a few of my miniature hair clips, which are perfect for toddlers.)

Click any of the photos below to zoom in.

What do you think of the finished product? I’d love to hear your feedback!

As with most of my “Projects of the Week,” the Personalized Photo Triptych is hot of the presses, meaning it’s not yet available in my Etsy shop, although it will be sometime within the next few weeks. If you can’t wait and want to order one right away, let me know, and I’ll be happy to rush an order for you.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Crafting How-To, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project of the Week: Photo Triptych

  1. Rachel says:

    I love the photos! This is a really nice idea, and I might have to do this for my nephews, or even better, one of my nephews for my sisters. I think I have mother’s day presents!

    Next time you might want a little more white space around the text so it’s easier to read, especially when the text is a little faded like this.

Leave a Reply

