What it is to be an artist

I must admit that I have never read any of William Faulkner’s work (I know, shame on me!), but I just happened upon this quote of his while searching for new quotes for my wall plaques, and it resonated. I must admit that the thought that something I make will be treasured by a family for years, bringing joy to each family member, is exhilarating. Faulkner perfectly captured that nebulous desire of every artist: to make work that matters and work that breaths a life of its own, separate from the artist.

The aim of every artist is to arrest motion, which is life, by artificial means and hold it fixed so that a hundred years later, when a stranger looks at it, it moves again since it is life.
 
– William Faulkner

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What it is to be an artist

  1. Trina Prenzi says:

    I Love this quote and your plaque is wonderful!! šŸ™‚

  2. Thank you so much, Trina! And this quote just spoke to me — it captures so well the goal of an artist.

Leave a Reply

