Amateur

While I’ve been crafting non-stop since I was a child, I am very new to crafting as a profession, and I know I have lots to learn. I’m improving every day and actively working to perfect familiar techniques and learn new ones. Yet sometimes I get impatient with myself, wanting those skills to be there now, not later.

When I happened upon this quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson, it made me smile and reminded me gently that I shouldn’t take my struggles quite so seriously, for even the artists I most admire were once novices, too.

“Every artist was first an amateur.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson


A few items by Donna Kato, one of my favorite polymer clay artists:

(Even though I know it’s true, it’s particularly hard for me to believe that Donna Kato was once an amateur. Her items are so polished and beautiful.)



Click here to visit Donna Kato’s website.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Design Process & Inspiration, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amateur

  1. Rachel says:

    Very nice items, though I can’t figure out if the first one is a necklace or a purse or….whatever it is, it’s beautiful. I’m sure you’ll get there sooner that you expect!

Leave a Reply

