Gift Treasury for Ash Wednesday

As my newsletter readers know, both my father and I have birthdays that fall during Lent this year, which got me wondering about what gifts are appropriate for the Lenten season. As a result, I created a Lenten-themed treasury last week, which was featured in the March 2011 newsletter, available here. (If you’d like to sign up for my monthly newsletter, click here.)

While I created the Lenten Treasury last week, the items in it inspired me enough that I wanted to feature a few on my blog. I am continually amazed by the creativity of my fellow Esty crafters, and I’m so excited to be part of such a vibrant community.


Deep Passion Wall Cross & Suncatcher – by LightWorksGlass

The simplicity of this stained glass hanging is both striking and effective, and I love the contrast between the deep red background and the milky white cross.

Katherine T, the creative mind behind LightWorksGlass, offers the Cross Suncatcher in several colors, so check out her shop to see all of them. Also take a look at her Ivory Keyboard Plate – so fun!


Quilted Purple Altar Paraments – by SewnInTheSpirit

I’m fairly new to quilting, so I’m always impressed by people who take the techniques involved in quilting beyond the norm to create fabric works of art. I think these altar paraments, by SewnInTheSpirit certainly fit that description. While they’re intended for use in a church, they would make lovely home decorations as Lenten table runners or wall hangings.


Cross Bamboo Tile Pendant – by BlessedBe13

This little pendant is perhaps my favorite item in my Lenten Treasury. The delicate starbursts remind me of traditional illustrations of the sky as it appeared on the night of Jesus’ birth, and the rich blues and reds in the background are just perfect.

BlessedBe13, who lives very close to me in Northern KY, has several different versions of the Bamboo Tile Pendant, and be sure to take a look at her entire shop, which is full of items with Biblical themes.


Faith – Hope – Love Necklace – by JennJill Designs

While my Faith-Hope-Love Necklace isn’t in my Lenten Treasury, I do think it would make a wonderful Lenten gift.

Only days after the idea for JennJill Designs was born, I was discussing my new business venture with a man in my church. This man spent his career as an inventor and engineer (he holds a patent on the Easy Bake Oven), and after seeing a few of my prototype clay creations, his eyes immediately lit up. He had an idea! He mentioned to me the famous “love” passage in 1 Corinthians 13 and described his view that Faith and Hope are two spiritual elements that cannot not exist without Love, that are literally held together by Love. He then commissioned me to design a necklace that portrayed the prominent role of Love in the life of a Christian.

The Faith, Hope, & Love necklace is the result of that early commission. While almost all JennJill jewelry designs are one-of-a-kind, I fell in love with this necklace design and knew that making one would never be enough. However, each charm is handcrafted, so each necklace is still unique.


May your Lenten season be one of spiritual growth, and may the next six weeks bring you closer to the Lord.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Treasuries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

