Two Months of JennJill Designs

This week marks 8 weeks – 2 months – since I quit my full-time job and went part-time so that I could focus on developing JennJill Designs into a viable and thriving new business. Taking that step was a huge leap of faith that God would provide and help my husband and me overcome the gap in our budget that was created by my new working situation. It’s been a tumultuous two months with a steep learning curve, but I can freely say that I am so glad I did it.

At first, my crafting days were full of frantic activity. I don’t think I had really absorbed the reality that I now had time to do the creative work that needed to get done. I continually felt like I was playing “hookie” from my full-time job, that I was crafting on borrowed time and had to get things done as quickly as humanly possible, or maybe even faster than that.

Thankfully, I’ve since been able to settle into a regular rhythm of crafting for JennJill and completing office work at my part-time job. I usually enjoy my duties at the part-time day job, so the frantic days of late January have gradually settled into a more mundane and more productive daily schedule.

However, completing the business side of my JennJill duties is still a struggle. So much paperwork goes along with owning your own business! My parents are both self-employed, and I grew up watching them daily handle the business aspects of self-employment, so I knew ahead of time what I was getting myself into. I must say, though, that my past experience hasn’t made it any easier to handle the ever-looming monolith of forms and tax regulations and organizational needs. Do any of you have suggestions for handling the not-so-fun part of running a new business?

Owning and running my own business these past few months has been a wonderful, roller-coaster adventure, one I wouldn’t exchange for the world. I’m so thankful God has given me the opportunity to share my craft and make a living with the work of my hands. What fun!

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Personal Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

