Let Go and Let God

My favorite Bible verse is one that many people pass over, without almost a second glance. Jeremiah 17 begins, like many chapters in the prophet’s book, with warnings to the people of Judah regarding what will occur if they continue their sinful behavior.

But about halfway through, the prophet turns his mind to praises of the Lord: “A glorious throne, exalted from the beginning, is the place of our sanctuary. LORD, you are the hope of Israel.” – Jeremiah 17:12-13 (NIV)

And then comes my favorite verse:

“Heal me, O LORD, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved: for thou art my praise.” Jeremiah 17:14 (KJV – sorry for the old phrase structure, but I memorized it in KJV as a child, and this verse will forever be in King James English in my mind)

To me, this verse speaks of the powerful sovereignty of God. He has but to say the word, and all of Jeremiah’s and Israel’s ills will be healed. He has but to wish it, and they will be saved. And for that, for His glorious omnipotence, the prophet praises Him.

On days like today, this verse helps me to remember that, ultimately, I am not control. It’s not my job to “fix the world.” Only God can do that. So, as the saying goes, today (and every day) is the day to “let go, and let God,” for Thou art my praise.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

