Reflections on a Tumultuous Week

If nothing else is clear to me from my experiences the past month, this much is clear: running a business is hard work.

This week brought my first several online purchases (hurrah!) and included the sending of my official “Open for Business” email, the attempt at my first online sale (moderately successful), posting of a bunch of new items on my Etsy shop (check them out! www.JennJillDesigns.com), and the spending of my first marketing dollars to purchase Holiday Showcase spots on the Handmade website/blog WhatTheCraft.com.

While I knew running a craft business would be difficult, I don’t think I was quite prepared for how much I would have to juggle. From creating new designs to fulfilling orders to packing shipments to photographing items for new listings, the craziness never stops!

But I’m also having a fabulous time. In the last few years, I’d gradually been doing less and less crafting, as life (marriage, school, work, etc.) seemed to occupy more and more of my time. Since opening JennJill Designs, I’ve rediscovered the joy of crafting, and a joy it is! Transforming a lump of clay into a beautiful ornament or accessory is a wonderful thrill, and I’m so excited God has given me the opportunity to at least attempt to make a living doing so.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on a Tumultuous Week

  1. Alicia says:

    neat!!!!! love the banner!! heh heh… cool to see the blog and stuff up and running

Leave a Reply

