Thankful Thursday

If you haven’t read yesterday’s post about the JennJill Designs “Supporting Jim” Fundraiser, please take a moment to read it now.

It is so important to me that I take time out each week to be thankful. The process helps center me on what’s truly important and keeps the inspirational juices flowing. Here’s this week’s list:

  • Quiet mornings – My morning so far has consisted of delicious cheese bread for breakfast and quiet blog browsing while the birds sleep in their cages and while the sun slowly rises through our back windows. My mornings usually start at a frenetic, gotta-get-stuff-done pace, and right now I’m thankful for a calm and quiet start to my day.
     
  • Bargain hats – Last Saturday, Arturo and I stopped at Goodwill for an impromptu thrifting trip. As luck would have it, it was a 50% off everything Saturday, so we stocked up. The best of my finds was an adorable hat (with the tag still attached!) for only $1.50. I wore it last night for an evening out with friends, and I am very thankful for its cute style and even cuter price.
     
  • Music that makes me dance – On our evening out with friends (see above), we went to Sitwells and heard the Faux Frenchmen. Sitwells is one of our favorite local coffee shops, and the Faux Frenchmen are one of our favorite local groups. They are simply amazing! Their music makes my feet start tapping and my shoulders start moving. Arturo and I have both of their CDs. We listen to them on road trips and can’t help but dance along. (I’ve often thought that passing drivers must think we’re crazy!) If you’ve never heard their music, you should definitely visit their website and take a listen (and do a little dance :) ).
     
  • YouTube’s selection of classical music videos – I have several big performances and auditions coming up, and YouTube has been helping me prepare. If I have a question about the “standard” interpretation for a specific passage – how much rallentando is acceptable in a particular spot, for instance – all I need to do is visit YouTube and listen to several different artists performing the same piece. I can then compare and contrast the various interpretations and incorporate the best elements of each into my own performance. It’s like having a library of recordings at my fingertips. Incredible! My favorite recording from this week’s practicing would have to be Rita Streich’s Kommt ein schlanker bursch gegangen. Her voice is crystal clear, and her diction is amazing.
     
  • Volume pricing – Yesterday, I placed several large supply orders – lots of clay, new jewelry wires, beads, etc. While the order totals were quite large, I spent nearly $100 less than I would have paid without volume pricing. Fire Mountain Gems and Create for Less both have some amazing volume discounts, if you’re prepared to buy in large quantities. Fire Mountain Gems’ policy is particularly helpful. They provide volume pricing based on your total number of items, rather than the quantity purchased of a single item, so the discounts add up quickly. The volume pricing from these two online retailers helped me get the supplies I need at a reasonable cost – definitely something to be thankful for.

I hope you are having a wonderful Thursday, and I hope you take time out today to be thankful.

JennJill Designs Country Church Christmas Ornament

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

