Dapping and Stamping

I’ve found that one of the best ways to encourage people to sign up for my bead and jewelry classes at Michaels is to show them a sample of the class project. When they can touch and examine the finished product up close and personal, they’re better able to visualize how the class will help them complete their own projects. So, to that end, I’ve been spending a lot of time recently completing samples for the rest of my upcoming Michaels classes. I discussed several sample projects in Monday’s post, and here are a few more photos.

As always, feel free to contact me if you’re interested in signing up for one of my classes (located in Cincinnati, OH). I’d love to have you!

While I’ve done lots of work with stamped clay, I’d never done stamped metal before, so this was definitely a learning experience for me. I ruined quite a few metal blanks before I got it right, but after lots of practice I now feel ready to teach the “Fundamentals of Stamping” class in just a few weeks.

Stamped Faith-Hope-Love Necklace

Likewise, dapping and texturing were new techniques to me. Before taking the plunge, I did lots of reading online about dapping, the process of shaping metal blanks into half-spheres. As a result, I was able to avoid most of the pitfalls and mistakes made by beginners and didn’t end up wasting a single metal blank. It was fun banging and hammering the metal into submission, and I’m sure my students will feel the same.

Dapped and Textured Metal Bracelet

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Crafting How-To, Design Process & Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

