Resolution to Succeed

Running a small business, particularly in the early stages of that business, is hard work. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Some days, I feel like a chicken with my head cut off. Managing all parts of the business, from paperwork to taxes to marketing to crafting, without any employees to help is a herculean task. When the sheer size of the work before me threatens to become overwhelming, it helps to have motivational thoughts to remind me why I’m doing what I’m doing. This morning, I came across one such thought:

Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other one thing.
 
– Abraham Lincoln

Lincoln wrote this pearl of wisdom in a letter to a young man by the name of Isham Reavis on Nov. 5, 1855. Reavis was an aspiring lawyer searching for a mentor, and while Lincoln turned down Reavis’s request to study with Lincoln, he wrote Reavis a wonderfully encouraging letter that concludes with the above comment.

Like Reavis, I am just starting down the pathway of a new career. I find that Lincoln’s words speak to me as well, reminding me that I must believe in myself and in the value of that I am doing, remaining ever determined in the course I’ve chosen. Only then will I be able to achieve success as an artisan and as a business owner.

About JennJill Designs

JennJill Designs provides the handcrafted goods of Jennifer Jill Araya. Visit www.JennJillDesigns.com to learn more.
This entry was posted in Business, Personal Thoughts, Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolution to Succeed

  1. Arturo Araya says:

    These are such important words to live by. I will keep them close to my heart. Thanks for sharing. :)

Leave a Reply

